A Hackathon Noob's Thoughts: Netlify x Hashnode Hackathon

If the requirement is that it be open-source shouldn't it be a group effort?

ยท

2 min read

A Hackathon Noob's Thoughts: Netlify x Hashnode Hackathon

My First Hackathon

I'm a complete novice when it comes to hackathons - I've never participated in one. I want to but they're usually beyond my skillset.

When Netlify and Hashnode announced another Hackathon I was pleasantly surprised when the only pressing requirement was that the project be open-source.

So I got to thinking of an idea that would be fun to do and benefit everyone in the end. An idea came to me, one that harkens back to my previous article. Something I constantly have to contend with while I learn or teach languages is sifting through multitudes of information to find the specific thing I need. What if there was a central place, that had all the important parts of a language at the click of a button?

Thus The Language Hub was born!

The Language Hub: A place to find the info for the language you are learning as quickly and efficiently as possible

Doesn't Open-Source Mean We Work Together?

As we approach the halfway mark of the hackathon, I noticed that everyone is doing their own thing. I don't see any collaborating or working together. To my understanding, that's the essence of open source - collaboration.

It could be happening behind the scenes, I don't know...

I've chosen to embrace open-source the way understand it, and share my source while I'm still building. The nature of The Language Hub demands it.

So, here's the source: The Language Hub, it's open. Let's work on it together, openly ๐Ÿ˜„


Thank you for reading, let's connect!

Thank you for visiting this little corner of mine. Let's connect on Twitter, Polywork and LinkedIn

ย