T3MP Session Thirteen: Interview Your Mentor

A little more insight on Tomas Norre

T3MP Session Thirteen: Interview Your Mentor

To round everything up, I got to ask Tomas some questions of my own - some things I was wondering


Session 13

Why Tech? What drew you to it?

"There are two answers to this, the fun one and the real one."

"I am a bit dyslexic. I would have been a writer, but that means you spellings and stuff have to be correct. With code, if it's not correct, it does not compile."

"I have always wanted to be a carpenter, but I am allergic to sawdust."

"The world has always been interesting to me. With the support and encouragement from my family, I was able to pursue the path further."

Apart from the role you have right now, which did you enjoy the most?

"I love TYPO3. It would have to be the project with SONY. The challenges we faced were really interesting."

What are your top 5 favourite books?

"In no particular order:

And What are you reading right now?

What is your favourite operating system?

"Linux"

During a session you mentioned that you were getting used to your new keyboard. Are you used to it now?

"Oh, that was because I on a Mac. I have since gone back to Linux. It's all fine now."

I recall you saying you enjoy golf. Besides that and development, what else do you enjoy doing?

"I am big on family, I love spending time with my family - one of the reasons I am moving back home. I also like swimming and riding my bicycle."

That ties into my next question if you still ride your bicycle?

"I still do, when I get the time."

What's the biggest lesson you've learnt in your time as a developer

"Regardless of your experience level as a developer, you are going to sit debugging a one-character error."

You have been in Germany for some time now. Would you say it's a good place to move to?

"Depending on your reasons for moving, I would advise you to stay for a short period and see if it's the right fit for you. But generally, yes. It is a good place to live and work."

What advice do you have for me?

"Be true to yourself."

"When dealing with clients, if you come across a situation where you feel they are not right for you, don't be afraid to say no."

"Stay true to your ethical self."

Well, that's all I had. Thank you, Tomas this was very eye opening.


Thoughts

Tomas is an interesting man. I'm glad i got him as a mentor.


I have paraphrased some of Tomas' answers.


Thank you for reading, let's connect!

Thank you for visiting this little corner of mine. Let's connect on Twitter and LinkedIn