Coding Challenges - My Issue With Them

Give me an end goal, a reason to do them...

Coding Challenges - My Issue With Them

Coding Challenges... Some live by them, some have never heard of them, others could not be bothered. I have a few issues with them...

Introduction

What is a coding challenge? Well depending on the context, that answer will differ. The ones I'm talking about are the ones found on sites where they set you a task - say: find the substring in a string. You have to solve it, when you do, you move on to the next one.

Because of my past experiences, I see no value in doing these kinds of challenges, particularly in this way. In my opinion, questions should have a set goal in mind - a unified one. This challenge after challenge for the sake of challenge makes no sense to me.

You spend a lot of time focused on one singular task, solve and most likely never use that solution you have solved.

Show A Real World Instance Where I Would Use It Is All I'm Saying


Why I Don't Like This?

There is no working towards anything. I have solved it yes, then what?

In the years that I have been learning languages (spoken), everything builds up to something. You learn a concept, you build on that concept. In the end, you can speak the language.

I like sites like freecodecamp in this regard. They have challenges, yes. But those challenges compound, they build towards something. Making use of the knowledge asked about in those challenges to create something.

Conclusion

Basically, I want to be working to something, something tangible. To be able to say, "I did a, b, c and that helped me make d". I want a reason to do these challenges. Not to do the challenges for the sake of it.

I believe in visible results to anything you're doing, not just the knowledge that I can do things.

How Do You Feel About Coding Challenges?


Thank you for reading, let's connect!

Thank you for visiting this little corner of mine. Let's connect on [Twitter](twitter.