Let's Learn Eleventy

Let's Learn Eleventy

And make a complete tutorial

For the past couple of weeks I have been exploring Static Site Generators (SSG) in an effort to see what exactly I need that is specifc to Next.js and what can be accomplished with just HTML.

To that effect, I started investigating Eleventy. On my quest, I have been going through several tutorials and the documentation.

The probem is:

  1. The documentation, like the Next.js one, assumes knowledge of things.
  2. A number of the tutorials I came across just stop midway.

So, I'm making my own. We are going to be starting from scratch, exploring the features Eleventy has,deploying it and adding styling.

Let's begin shall we?

What is Eleventy?

Eleventy is static site generator that is is able to mix template languages. Content can be written with Markdown or one of the other ten template languages. Or, dynamically create pages from local data or external sources that are compiled at build time. It has zero client-side JavaScript dependencies, so your site is truly static.

What They Say

Eleventy, a simpler static site generator.

Well that's all for now. I'll be back with the next one as we begin...


Thank you for reading, let's connect!

Thank you for visiting this little corner of mine. Let's connect on Twitter, Polywork and LinkedIn