Speaking at Eleventy Meetup

Speaking at Eleventy Meetup

An incredible experience

If you have been following my articles for some time, you know that I did a series on Eleventy

This series - as is with most of my articles - was to help me understand Eleventy.

During that time, I got to interact with amazing people from all over the web - still do.

It would so happen that Eleventy was looking for speakers for Eleventy Meetup; all you had to do was submit topics you wanted to speak about.

Here are the topics you initially proposed from the CFP form:

  1. How Eleventy nudges you to learn more

  2. How Eleventy simplifies your life ( its the web stuff you know, with a little spice)

  3. Eleventy- not just a framework, but a community


The Email

I had forgotten entirely about my submission when I received an email from Stephanie Eckles asking if I wanted to speak at the next meetup.

Of course, I said yes. It would be something I hadn't done before and an awesome experience for me.

We had a lot of back and forth with Steph as she explained the process to me and we agreed on scheduling and things of that nature.

My talk after having been reminded of my initial topics was:


The Talk

After some writing and rewriting, my final talk was divided into:

  • Introduction

  • Migrating to Eleventy

  • Eleventy Discord

  • Learn Eleventy Series

  • Why Eleventy Stuck

  • Community - The Superpower

Here is a brief rundown of the talking points:

Introduction: I introduced myself and how I got into Eleventy.

Migrating to Eleventy: The reasons that got me to switch to Eleventy

Eleventy Discord: How the Eleventy discord was a great help with my journey into Eleventy.

Learn Eleventy Series: The series I subsequently wrote with guidance from the discord.

Why Eleventy Stuck: The reasons I kept on with Eleventy, why I believe it's better than a lot frameworks out there.

Community - The Superpower: I see Eleventy as a community, not a framework or static site generator - that community aspect of it is its superpower.


The talk is still being edited, it'll be up on YouTube soon (I'll update this article when it is ready)


Conclusion

I enjoyed my time speaking at Eleventy Meetup. I would very much like to give more talks on other things. So if you know anywhere looking for speakers, please let me know.


Thank you for reading, let's connect!

Thank you for visiting this little corner of mine. Let's connect on Twitter, Polywork and LinkedIn