Taskito - Where My ToDos Live

Only Three Tasks and My Projects Outlined

Taskito - Where My ToDos Live

In an article I shared why I have switched to Obsidian and the reason it works well for me. In it, I briefly mentioned how I separate my concerns by not having my todos in it.

Pavittar Singh asked in the comments section what I use for my todos. I answered him but I saw this as an opportunity for another article, so here we are...

Taskito

Taskito is an app on the Google Play Store that allows you to create tasks. Set reminders for them and have notes.

It has two ways you can choose to view your tasks; timeline mode and day mode. The Board section can be used for things like projects or future tasks. There's also a graph in the Workspace area but I rarely ever use that.

Timeline Mode

timeline mode.jpg

Day Mode

day mode.jpg

I prefer the Day Mode layout - I can focus on a single day and its tasks. In addition to this area of the app, I also use the Board area for my projects and any tasks I have for the future.

The overdue task I had was for this post.

A Story

My head tends to be scattered, combine this with the fact that I have multiple things running through my mind at the same time. That leads to - a me, getting distracted if I don't have some kind of plan of what I am doing.

I need to have things written down in some form - I discovered this out some time ago. However, I went about it the wrong way. I would set tasks for what I want to get done, but I would set too many - thereby feeding into my propensity for distraction.

A friend suggested that I try just having a small number of tasks that way I can focus on what's important. So I did, and that really helped. I then needed a better way of keeping track of my tasks. A way such that when my thoughts started churning away, I would look down and be reminded of what I have to do.

A Turning Point

I tried out multiple apps and tools, but none of them really did what I needed. Then by happenstance, I stumbled upon Taskito. It does exactly what I wanted and a little bit extra.

How I Set & Complete My Tasks

I set my tasks either in the evening before I go to bed or in the morning. I only ever set three - I have noticed that within those 3 there are several subtasks that ensure its completion. I am aware of the sub-tasks, but I don't write them down. Doing so leads to me focusing on the wrong thing.

As the day goes by, I work on completing those tasks. I usually review as I go or at the end of the day.

Well, that's my simple task management flow. Both short and long-term tasks - close at hand and easy to review.

How do you go about tracking what you have to do?

Thank you Pavittar for asking, I would not have thought of writing this otherwise.


I found this hands-on article on Taskito for anyone interested in learning more. The system I have works well for me, you might need something more.

Hands-on with Taskito


Thank you for reading, let's connect

Thank you for visiting this little corner of mine. Let's connect on Twitter and LinkedIn